Locations of visitors to this page

English Беларуская мова Русский язык


Special offer for the 165th birthday of
Jeudakim Ramanau —
a replica of Belarusan gusli from the collection of famous Belarusan scientist


9-stringed wing-shaped gusli
$150
(available, you can take them right now)

(gusli+strap+lessons)

Contact the maker and buy the instrument

Wing-shaped gusli [gusli with a wing element] is one of the most common types of traditional gusli in Latvia and Russia, can be found in Estonia, and it is also the only traditional type of gusli in Belarus. Although the tradition of playing the gusli in Belarus was interrupted, the instruments played by Belarusians can be found in museums and essays by ethnographers from early 20th century. Jeudakim Ramanau wrote about the original instrument these words: "Gusli of triangular shape from a thick alder plank, that are hollowed out under the strings. This deepening is covered by the resonator board with five drilled holes, the length is 14 viershoks (61.6 cm; 24.25 in), width 5,5 viershoks (24.2 sm; 9.53 in). The strings are metal, 9 ones, tensed by pegs. Should be plucked with fingers for playing. Gusli was a musical instrument belowed by priesthood, landlords, and gentry. Now they are going out of use. The obtained exemplar built primitive... According to story, it is about 100 years old (from Sweeden times — 1703—1708 )".

Body: spruce.
Spruce, alder and pine are the most traditional materials for gusli bodies of all types and kinds. First gusli I ever held in my hands was from spruce. Spruce gusli sounds bright and warm. Pleasant middle tones close to human voice in their sound are rised. Spruce instruments are lightweight, with beautiful wooden texture.
Coating: wood stain and waxing.

Soundboard: spruce.
Spruce is the most tratidion wood for soundboards. The correct selection of musical qualities of a specific soundboard made from spruce and adherence to technology when glued — allows the instrument to expand timbre, adds warmth to the sound. And also the loudness of the instrument directly depends on a good soundboard.

Pegs: cherrywood.
Cherry, as the most European garden trees is a good matirial for the pegs. Cherrywood is hard enough, unevenly colored, with a beautiful texture, and a slight red tinge.

Strings: plain steel strings, hard tension.
Metal strings could have been already installed on the gusli of the 11th century, and are most satisfying for a modern musician. The tickness of the strings range is 0.022" да 0.012". The tuning is: d-e-g-a-b-c-d-e-f. The 9th string can be retuned into g. And then we will get the tuning without septa (the tuning described in ealy 20th century by Nikolaj Privalov), that is really good for Belarusan folk dances and tunes. A hard tension makes the sound of the instument very high and piercing. This gusli in good for sessions with Belarusan bagpipes in G major and A minor tuning. The variant of strings and tuning that I propose is the best for this gusli type.

Softcase:
There's no softcase in this set. If you need one, I can help to design the model and order it from professional sewer, who are making regular softcases for me

A woven strap for playing in a standing position:
A traditional kind of a handmade woven belt.

Contact the maker and buy this instrument


Alieś Čumakoŭ (Ales Chumakou/Aliaksandr Chumakou). Minsk. 2020.

English Беларуская мова Русский язык


Специальное предложение к 165-летию от рождения
Евдокима Романовича Романова —
копия белорусских гуслей из коллекции известного белорусского учёного


9-струнные крыловидные гусли
$150
(в наличии, можно забрать прямо сейчас)

(гусли+пояс+занятия)

Связаться с мастером и купить этот инструмент

Крыловидные гусли [гусли с открылком] один из наиболее распространенных типов традиционных гуслей в Латвии и России, встречается в Эстонии, а также это единственный традиционный тип гуслей в Беларуси. Хоть традиция игры на гуслях в Беларуси прервалась, инструменты, на которых играли беларусы, можно встретить в музеях и очерках исследователей этнографии Беларуси начала XX века. Об музейном инструменте с коллекции Е.Р.Романова сам наш известный соотечественник писал: "Гусли в виде треугольника из толстой ольховой доски, которая под струнами выдолблена. Углубление это прикрыто резонатором с пятью просверленными отверстиями, длина 14 вершков (61,6 см), ширина 5,5 вершка (24,2 см). Струны металлические, числом девять, натягиваются колышками. Для игры струны перебираются пальцами. Гусли были любимым музыкальным инструментом духовенства, помещиков, шляхты. Теперь они выходят из употребления. Присылаемый экземпляр примитивной, топорной работы… По преданию, ему около 100 лет (от шведа — 1703—1708 гг.)".

Корпус: ель.
Ель, ольха и сосна — наиболее традиционные материалы для корпусов гуслей всех видов и традиций. Первые гусли, которые попали ко мне в руки, были из ели. Еловые гусли обладают очень ярким теплым звучанием. В звуке таких гуслей приеобладают приятные средние частоты, наиболее близкие к тембру человеческого голоса. Такие инструменты лёгкие, с ярко выраженной деревянной текстурой.
Покрытие: бейц плюс вощение.

Голосная доска: ель.
Ель — наиболее традиционный вариант дерева для голосной доски. Правильный подбор музыкальных особенностей конкретной голосной доски из ели, и соблюдение технологии при приклеивании — позволяет инструменту тембрально раскрыться, добавляет в звучание теплоты. А также от хорошей деки напрямую зависит громкость инструмента.

Колки: вишня.
Вишня, как и большинство наших плодовых деревьев — хороший материал для колков. Вишня достаточно твёрдое дерево, неоднородно окрашенное, с красивой текстурой, и лёгким красноватым оттенком.

Струны: голые стальные, натяжение сильное.
Металлические струны возможно стояли ещё на гуслях XI века, и наиболее подходят современному музыканту. Сечения струн в комплекте среднего натяжения варьируются от 0.022" до 0.011". Строй гуслей: e-d-g-a-b-c-d-e-f. 9-я струна может быть перестроена в g (соль). Тогда мы получим строй без 7-й ступени (описанный ещё Николаем Приваловым), который идеально подходит для исполнения белорусских танцев и наигрышей. Сильное натяжение делает звук инструмента пронзительным. На этих гуслях можно играть дуэтом с белорусскими дудами (волынками) в тональностях соль мажор и ля минор. Предложенный тут вариант подбора струн и строя гуслей оптимальный для этой модели.

Футляр:
Футляр не входит в комплект. Если Вам нужен футляр, я помогу разработать его модель и заказать у професстональной швеи, которая делает все мои футляры

Плетеный пояс для игры стоя:
Традиционный пояс, плетеный на дощечках.

Связаться с мастером и купить этот инструмент


Алесь Чумаков. Минск. 2020 год.
Ремесленник Чумаков Александр Александрович, УНП: AB7480283