Locations of visitors to this page

English Беларуская мова Русский язык


9-stringed kantele
(sold out, but you can order an instrument with a similar look)

Contact the maker and order an instrument

Kantele is the most prevalent type of gusli-without-a-wing traditional in Finland and Karelia. Estonian hollowed kannel has much in common with old hollowed Finnish kantele. In its turn Kurzeme (Courland) kokle, Zemaitian (Samogitian) and Aukstaitian (Lithuanian highlands region) kankles and kantele also are very relative instruments. But the instrument from the photo is a kantele definitely. There are some elements, that were built consciously, typical for old kanteles: ponsi (the tip of the body near the stringholder looking like a beak), ponnen lovi (rounded stringholder) and kierukka (decorative curl).

Body: alder.
Alder, as well as spruce and pine, is the most traditional material for gusli bodies of all kinds. Gusli with alder bodies are timbre/loudness ballanced. These instruments are strong and trouble-free.
Coating: wood stain and waxing. There is a Thunder Weel carved on the decorative curl (means Sun, old Slavonic god of Thunder — Piarun symbol, symbol of courage and bravery, protection charm) — one of the most common ornamental elements for folk string instruments decoration.

Soundboard: spruce.
Spruce is the most tratidion wood for soundboards. The correct selection of musical qualities of a specific soundboard made from spruce and adherence to technology when glued — allows the instrument to expand timbre, adds warmth to the sound. And also the loudness of the instrument directly depends on a good soundboard.

Pegs: pearwood.
Pearwood is an ideal material for pegs. Pear is an ideal material for pins. The pear is very hard wood, but at the same time the surface of the pear is soft enough for the pegs to fit perfectly into the conical peg hole, smoothly spinning and perfectly being in tune.

Strings: plain steel strings, normal tension.
Metal strings could have been already installed on the gusli of the 11th century, and are most satisfying for a modern musician. The cross-sections of the strings in a 9-string medium-tension set range from 0.022" to 0.013". The higher the tension of the strings, the louder the instrument. The weaker the tension, the more overtones in the sound of each string, the richer the sounds of the gusli. Of course, everything has its reasonable limit: too much tensed strings are often break (or deform the instrument), and too slightly tensed are not perfectly in tune. The proposed option will satisfy any novice guslar, but when you get to the replacement of strings — you will have a choice. However, if they are not broken specially, the strings on the gusli live for many years. You can get used to such a tension and do not want to change anything anymore.

Case:
There is the framed bag case in the set. Outer layer is from the waterproof bag fabric. All the sides are laid with two layers of foam and a layer of hard plastic. It is the best comprehensive protection for the instrument from water, drops and shocks. There are comfortable shoulder straps for carrying, a soft carry handle for horizontal carrying and a loop for vertical carrying. The case is compact, repeats the dimensions of the instrument.

Contact the maker and order an instrument


Alieś Čumakoŭ. Minsk. 2018.

English Беларуская мова Русский язык


9-струнные кантеле
(проданы, но всегда можно заказать себе похожие)

Связаться с мастером и заказать инструмент

Кантеле — наиболее распространённый тип гуслей без открылка традиционный для Финляндии и Карелии. Эстонская долблёная каннель имеет много общих черт со старинными долблёными финскими кантеле. В свою очередь курземские кокле, жемайстийские и аукштайтские канклес и кантеле также очень родственные инструменты. Но инструмент на фото — именно кантеле. В нём осознанно выполнены типичные для старинных кантеле ponsi (окончание корпуса клювиком в области струнодержателя), ponnen lovi (скоба струнодержателя округлой формы) и kierukka (декоративный завиток).

Корпус: ольха.
Ольха, наряду с елью и сосной, — наиболее традиционный материал для корпусов гуслей всех видов и традиций. К примеру, из ольхи сделан корпус белорусских гуслей из коллекции Е. Р. Романова (Российский этнографический музей). Гусли с ольховыми корпусами сбаллансированы по тембрам и громкости. Такие инструменты крепкие и надёжные.
Покрытие: бейц плюс вощение. На декоративном завитке вырезано "громовое колесо" (солнце, знак Перуна, символ храбрости, отваги, оберег) — один из наиболее часто встречаемых элементов орнамента для декорирования старинных народных музыкальных инструментов.

Голосная доска: ель.
Ель — наиболее традиционный вариант дерева для голосной доски. Правильный подбор музыкальных особенностей конкретной голосной доски из ели, и соблюдение технологии при приклеивании — позволяет инструменту тембрально раскрыться, добавляет в звучание теплоты. А также от хорошей деки напрямую зависит громкость инструмента.

Колки: груша.
Груша — идеальный материал для колков. Груша очень твердое дерево, но в то же время поверхность груши достаточно мягкая для того, чтобы колки великолепно подстроились под коническое колковое отверстие, плавно крутились и идеально держали строй.

Струны: голые стальные, натяжение среднее.
Металлические струны возможно стояли ещё на гуслях XI века, и наиболее подходят современному музыканту. Сечения струн в 9-струнном комплекте среднего натяжения варьируются от 0.022" до 0.013". Чем выше натяжение струн, тем громче инструмент. Чем слабее натяжение, тем больше обертонов в звуке каждой струны, тем богаче звучат гусли. Конечно, всему есть свой разумный предел: слишком сильно натянутые стуны рвутся (или портят инструмент), а слишком слабо натянутые не строят. Предложенный здесь вариант устроит любого начинающего гусляра, а вот когда дойдёт до замены струн — у вас будет выбор. Впрочем, если их не рвать специально, струны на гуслях живут много лет. Можно привыкнуть к такому натяжению и уже не захотеть ничего менять.

Футляр:
В комплекте каркасный сумочный футляр. Снаружи водонепромоницаемая ткань, а все стенки проложены двумя слоями пенки и слоем жесткого пластика. Лучшая комплексная защита инструмента от воды, падений и ударов. Удобные лямки для переноски за спиной, мягкая ручка для горизонтальной переноски и петелька для вертикальной переноски. Футляр компактный, повторяет габариты инструмента.

Связаться с мастером и заказать инструмент


Алесь Чумаков. Минск. 2018 год.
Ремесленник Чумаков Александр Александрович, УНП: AB7480283